Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos. 3, 14, 23, 26, 32 – Evgeny Kissin

Piano Sonata No.3 in C, Op.2 No.3
1. Allegro con brio
2. Adagio
3. Scherzo Allegro
4. Allegro assai
32 Piano Variations In C Minor On An Original Theme, WoO 80
Piano Sonata No.14 In C Sharp Minor, Op.27 No.2 -‘Moonlight’
1. Adagio sostenuto
2. Allegretto
3. Presto agitato
Piano Sonata No.23 in F minor, Op.57 -‘Appassionata’
1. Allegro assai
2. Andante con moto
3. Allegro ma non troppo
Piano Sonata No.26 in E flat, Op.81a -‘Les adieux’
1. Das Lebewohl Adagio – Allegro
2. Abwesenheit Andante espressivo
3. Das Wiedersehen Vivacissimamente
Piano Sonata No.32 in C minor, Op.111
1. Maestoso – Allegro con brio ed appassionato
2. Arietta Adagio molto semplice e cantabile

Evgeny Kissin

Format: 2 CD
Release date: 25/8/2017
UGS : 0028947975816 Catégories : , ,



   in Piano International (Jan, 2018)
Beethoven has not figured prominently in Kissin’s recorded repertoire to date, so this two-disc collection of live recordings is very welcome. The performances were made between 2006 (the Sonata No 3 and Les Adieux) and 2016 (the Appassionata) at a variety of venues around the globe: Seoul Arts Center; Le Corum, Montpellier; Carnegie Hall; the Concertgebouw; the Musikverein; and the Salle des Combins, Verbier.

DG have done a decent job with the varying instruments, locations and dates. Nevertheless, there are audible variances in sound quality, most markedly a somewhat two-dimensional feel to the Seoul Arts Center. Comparing Kissin’s account of Sonata No 3 with Paul Lewis’ on Harmonia Mundi confirms …

0/5 (0 Reviews)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos. 3, 14, 23, 26, 32 – Evgeny Kissin”